Bite-sized blog post: Gwen Arner

Gwen Arner

GWEN ARNER is a television director who also worked as an actor.

She directed for television and the stage for over twenty years. Back in 1996 in a Los Angeles Times article she commented about the prospect for women directing in film and theatre, “It’s opened up a lot now, but it’s still not as good as it should be. It just doesn’t make sense statistically. When you go into a university and [you see a] 50-50 [gender ratio] in all your creative classes and then you get out into the profession and the ratio drops dramatically, you know there’s something wrong. … It doesn’t have to do with a person’s talent or abilities.”

 More to add to this “bite-sized blog” – please send us a comment!

Where to watch her films:

AMAZON (Streaming)




Read more about her:


Los Angeles Times

FILMOGRAPHY (from imdb):

Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman (TV Series) (12 episodes)

Seeds of Doubt (1998)
Starting Over (1997)

 1995-1996C.P.W. (TV Series) (2 episodes)

Showgirls (1995)

 1996Homicide: Life on the Street (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1994The Cosby Mysteries (TV Series) (1 episode)

Mirror, Mirror (1994)

 1992-1993Sisters (TV Series) (4 episodes)

 1991-1993The Commish (TV Series) (4 episodes)

Video Vigilante (1992)
Skeletons (1992)

 1993Beverly Hills, 90210 (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1992Majority Rule (TV Movie)

 1991Law & Order (TV Series) (2 episodes)

Renunciation (1991)

 1991The Trials of Rosie O’Neill (TV Series) (1 episode)

Time Will Tell (1991)

 1990The Outsiders (TV Series) (1 episode)

Storm Warning (1990)

 1989-1990Alien Nation (TV Series) (2 episodes)

 1989Island Son (TV Series)

 1989Heartbeat (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1989Tattinger’s (TV Series) (2 episodes)

Broken Windows (1989)
 1988Necessary Parties (TV Movie)

 1988Hotel (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1982-1987Dynasty (TV Series) (11 episodes)

The Dress (1987)
The Surgery (1987)
Sideswiped (1986)
The Decision (1985)
The Californians (1985)

 1986The Colbys (TV Series) (4 episodes)

The Gala (1986)
The Honeymoon (1986)
 1986My Town (TV Movie)

 1982-1986Falcon Crest (TV Series) (9 episodes)

Conundrum (1986)
Coup d’Etat (1983)
Double Dealing (1983)
The Wages of Sin (1983)

 1984Dallas (TV Series) (6 episodes)

Barbecue Five (1984)
Shadows (1984)
Homecoming (1984)

 1984American Playhouse (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1983Fame (TV Series) (1 episode)

Star Quality (1983)

 1982King’s Crossing (TV Series) (1 episode)

The Home Front (1982)

 1981Nurse (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1979-1980Family (TV Series) (2 episodes)

 1977-1980The Waltons (TV Series) (13 episodes)

The Idol (1980)
The Wager (1979)
The Innocents (1979)
The Diploma (1979)

 1978The Paper Chase (TV Series) (1 episode)

 1978The Bionic Woman (TV Series) (1 episode)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *